Saturday, May 03, 2008

Technical Difficulties!!!!! And Stay Tuned....

well.... my kids are up in the playroom / guest room watching the Chronicles of Narnia... and hubby wanted to watch hockey (ick!) and so I headed to the living room... thought I would watch a movie on my laptop while I did some work... I got the laptop in February...

so I put the movie in... and windows media tries to play it... and a message pops up and says that it cannot play as I do not have a dvd compatible decoder????? wt*????? so I click on help and it takes me to microsoft's help world... and suggests I buy one with many choices ranging from $11.99 to $49.99... I was soooooo p*^^ed. I mulled and contemplated... that can't be the case... every computer I have had and we have had at work for years and years plays dvds, from the day you get the computer.... what the heck?

so then I figure I must have a piece of software in the house that would do the job without me digging out a credit card. So I find Roxio Media Creator 7. I had bought it years ago... and was sooo excited... but then did not get to use it as I installed it on my old laptop and it had compatibility issues with my software that interacted with our camcorder. And since we had paid a lot for the camcorder... I had to keep that software on even though Media Creator had way more features. So I figured... I will install this.... that will enable a dvd to play and maybe I will finally get to use it! (GREAT PLAN YOU ARE SAYING RIGHT?) well not so... I try to install it and it asks for the keycode... go*^#mn it! where the heck could that be after all these years???? so then I go to the Roxio site to see about getting a new code (yah! that would be a No with a big capital "N") and while there I get mesmerized by the video advertising Roxio Media Creator 10. Wow! I think.... pretty.... shiny.... cool program with wicked features even better then #7 that I never got to enjoy.... look I can get $20 off if I prove I have an older version.... but no, I do not bite.

So hubby says... take the t.v. in here... and I say...no, I want to be able to watch a dvd on the laptop... it will need to watch one some other time so I might as well deal with this now. (Famous last words)

So I put on some headphones and crank some tunes while I get ready to purchase a decoder. My fave songs are blasting in my ears... loving the quality with the headphones on. And I purchase the cheapest dvd decorder possible. So it downloads and then I virus scan it... and install it... and then you WILL NOT BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED NEXT!!!!!

It asks for a verification code or some other code... oh right! And it says if you have not purchased one to click here to purchase one! I am not joking! I am serious! Can you even believe it????? And now you will say... she did not then purchase one... right????? cuz am I that much of a sucker?

Well by this point I am on a mission, come hell or high water this laptop is playing a dvd... so I click on it... and the g/d activation code is double the price of the g/d decoder was!!!!!!!

so as the sage / adventure / nightmare / crisis / or whatever you wanna call it continues... I had turned my music off.... so I decide to listen to it to chill out. And ... now my music doesn't work.... you have to picture my face at that point... and my fury / confusion / desire to pound my head into the screen of the machine in front of me or perhaps chuck it against a wall..... It says I either don't have a sound card or it is in use by some other program....

ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!

p.s. the company that sucked me in.... was the same company that makes the program that mesmerized me and they also now make the program that interacts with our camcorder... they took it over or something... wonder if they fixed the compatibility issue and what a scam with the activation codes eh????

p.p.s. wish me luck with all this please.

No comments: