Wednesday, January 16, 2008

What the Hell is it With January?

What the hell is it with this month anyway?

I mean... I know we all want to start the new year feeling fresh and new and alive and brimming with resolutions and posibilities... come on!!! you know you want to... you know you think it... some of you while getting quite inebriated during New Year's Festivities... slur your words with excitement... you expound on how 2008 will be the year of this, that and the other thing... the best is of course... "This year WILL be different!" and then... January begins...

January has to be a statisically bad month for depression...
some reasons for this:
  • it is in the heart of f*#$%$~ winter which is a season which includes shovelling and this particular winter too god*&^% much snow.
  • you wake up on the first work weekday after New Year's Eve and think... I promised myself to change what? how? what the heck was I thinking?
  • not one bloody friggin holiday or long weekend anywhere in the whole g/d month
  • shitloads of people around you are beaming with positivity and energy and diets and good intentions
  • there are smiling xmas decorations all over your house and you have to haul up the boxes from the basement and cram all the tacky smiling crap into them without breaking the stuff and somehow haul it back downstairs with the aching back you have due to overindulging over the holidays and also the g/d shovelling
  • the bills from Christmas begin to drift in through the mailbox slot and now that the pile of shiny presents are no longer visible... you think... oh my god... how could I have possibly charged this much? I must be a victim of identity theft somehow... someone has my credit card and is scandalously charging stuff! you run... check your wallet... dammit... the card is there... am I possibly responsible for this bill?
  • gym joining... the january question... to join or to not join... that apparently is the question
  • new t.v. shows on t.v..... that look like they were written by monkeys... NO! I must not insult monkeys
  • did I mention it is in the g/d season of winter?

so I write this as I nurse a tender, sore back that is being aided by Aleve and arnica. My hubby's back is currently so messed up he can barely move. Our 5 yr old is on her second case of tonsilitis in 6 weeks.... and I am surrounded by boxes of xmas stuff which I want to take downstairs... oh and videos... a pile of them... exercise ones.... mocking me... while by butt is in the chair at the computer getting wider by the keyboard stroke...

I think longingly of February...

I CHALLENGE THEE TO COMMENT... TELL ME

  • HOW WRONG I AM ... HOW WONDROUS JANUARY IS
  • HOW YOU AGREE AND ARE EQUALLY DEPRESSED
  • HOW YOU ARE COMING TO TAKE THE BOXES DOWNSTAIRS FOR ME
  • HOW I SHOULD SUCK IT UP AND PUT THE VIDEOS IN AND EXERCISE
  • HOW I SHOULD BURN THE EXERCISE VIDEOS AND HAVE SOME FUDGE SHOULD SOME BE HIDING IN MY HOUSE

cheers!

2 comments:

lulubelle said...

January sucks.

February's not too great either.

Resolutions are stupid.

Excercise makes you feel good... but first you have to do it A LOT.

Chocolate makes you feel good too...much much faster.

:)

Anonymous said...

i can't, in so many words disagree with you. and i'm acctually not going to encourage you to pop in an excersize video. If you're back is as sore and you say it is... you should not be taking advice from Carmen Electra as she "striper-sises" Although I have started this excersise class called NIA. its yoga/martial arts/ dance/creative movement. its amazing!!! you basically just do what you want with a little instruction. and its not very intense. Sara's mom got her and I into it. (despite my hatetred fore the gym)